Cornerstone Bible Community Church | Sermon Summary: Power in the Prayerful Church

I had a chance to preach this message in Ephesians 1:15-23.  Lots of good insights blogged from Chanlee Sutoyo on May 13, 2012.

A CULTURE OF PRAYER

This passage is bursting with meaning and power. It is a powerful prayer. The end of the book of Ephesians has Paul encouraging us to put on the armor of God. Likewise, this passage has both doctrine and duty.

The church in Ephesus was a model church which we want to emulate. Like the book of Ephesians, we should begin and end with prayer.

The church in Ephesus was a hub for many churches. It was an Asian church in Turkey at the main port. The letter of Ephesians was distributed from there to all the churches in the area. Paul chose Ephesus as the central forwarding center for his message. This is why the letter is called a cyclical letter.

Christianity was an infant religion at this point, but Paul was so excited to let everyone know. Imagine that Ephesians 1 is written as an email with all caps. When Paul gets to verse 15, he realizes that the creator of the entire universe wants to lavish you and me with his greatness. Paul had to pause and write down a wonderful love-prayer filled with encouragement and intercession.

Our church strives toward a culture of prayer. We have brown bags filled with index cards of prayer requests that get prayed over regularly. The power of this church is rooted in prayer, both private and public.

As we are focused on interceding for others, Paul does the same. His energy is hard to keep up with and almost overwhelming.

READ MORE …. Cornerstone Bible Community Church | Sermon Summary: Power in the Prayerful Church.

About Kevin Nguyen

I am a Vietnamese-Texan Who doesn’t love both Pho and BBQ? And this is where I shall start… Introductions to Kevin Nguyen. Let me go ahead and introduce myself as best I can. My “Called” Name (what you go by): Legal name: Anh-Khoa Nguyen. Nickname: Kevin. Personal family name: Khoa (qua) Nationality: Vietnamese-Texan Kevin was picked up when I was trying to order pizza from Pizza Hut while in Texas. The guy asked how to spell my name. I mean, how hard is it to spell “K – H – O – A”, right? Those are not hard letters to hear over the phone. After several attempts – I couldn’t take it anymore — “Dude, my name is Kevin”. Finally, I can have my pizza. READ MORE here... http://nextgenerasianchurch.com/2012/02/01/i-am-a-vietnamese-texan/

Leave a Reply

