E.Q. and Leadership

I was recently at an executive coaching seminar, and the topic of EQ vs IQ emerged.  The speaker quoted some Noble Peace prize winner (suggest name?) on his work of EQ.  He paraphrased that, “we are emotional creatures before we are rational ones.”  That is something to ponder as I rethink the created in the Image of God.  He created us relationally (EQ), rationally (IQ), and functionally (leadership) like Him (Gen 1:28).

Leadership is largely an emotional intelligence.  Some estimates put it as high as 90%.  Leadership encompasses influence, achievement drive, self-confidence, team skills, and political awareness.  Failed leaders were too critical  moody, angry  defensive, and lacked empathy,” R. Grayson, PhD – from Emotional Intelligence: A Summary

Hiring Managers and Recruiters like Career Builder suggests the following in another HR blog:

“Emotional Intelligence or EI is an evaluation of person’s ability to remain in control of their emotions, use their senses to understand and react to other individuals’ emotions, and how they deal with relations… Due to the fact that the economy is under such uncertainty these days and companies are getting smaller, 34% of hiring managers said they are placing greater emphasis on emotional intelligence when hiring and promoting employees post-recession. Another major statistic is that 71% said they value emotional intelligence in an employee more than IQ.”

Tags: , ,

About Kevin Nguyen

I am a Vietnamese-Texan Who doesn’t love both Pho and BBQ? And this is where I shall start… Introductions to Kevin Nguyen. Let me go ahead and introduce myself as best I can. My “Called” Name (what you go by): Legal name: Anh-Khoa Nguyen. Nickname: Kevin. Personal family name: Khoa (qua) Nationality: Vietnamese-Texan Kevin was picked up when I was trying to order pizza from Pizza Hut while in Texas. The guy asked how to spell my name. I mean, how hard is it to spell “K – H – O – A”, right? Those are not hard letters to hear over the phone. After several attempts – I couldn’t take it anymore — “Dude, my name is Kevin”. Finally, I can have my pizza. READ MORE here... http://nextgenerasianchurch.com/2012/02/01/i-am-a-vietnamese-texan/

Leave a Reply

