Leadership Journal: Reloading the Leadership Team

Screen Shot 2015-10-29 at 9.42.30 PM

I recently wrote an article in Christianity Today’s Leadership Journal section.  They were doing an editorial series that surveyed the “State of the Pastorate”.  The editor wanted several pastors from different church contexts to weigh in and share battle stories in the ministry.  I’m confident my battle stories are quite trivial compared to the spiritual juggernauts that face the tyranny of religious persecution overseas.  Yet, I am comforted that God will and can use anything for His glory.  Paul reminds us in 2 Corinthians 12:9, “… I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me” (NLT).  I hope my journey can encourage others in leadership the impact of developing future leaders in order for them to be released in expanding His Kingdom.

Ministry Leaders,  start from beginning, and read through the series, State of my Pastorate from Christianity Today.

This week, in conjunction with our most recent print issue of Leadership Journal, which explores the state of the pastorate, we’ll be featuring a series of personal essays by pastors answering one question: what is the current state of your pastorate?

Each entry represents the unique viewpoint and concerns of an individual pastor in a particular context. While the accounts may vary, all represent the current state of God’s work in the world through his church and those who lead it.

What’s the state of your pastorate? Let us know online through tweets, blogs, drawings, or smoke signals. Include the hashtag #mypastorate, (which might be hard with a smoke signal) and we’ll feature our favorites in a post next week.

October 26
John Ortberg, pastor of Menlo Park Presbyterian Church in California: “Preaching Spit and Polish”

October 27
Doug Resler, senior pastor of Parker Evangelical Presbyterian Church in Parker, Colorado: “A Hazardous Duty”

October 28
Joe Thorn, lead pastor of Redeemer Fellowship in St. Charles, Illinois: “The Weight and Wait of Ministry”

October 29
Kevin Nguyen, campus pastor at Saddleback Church, Irvine (California) South Campus: “Reloading Our Leadership Team.”

Do any of these stories resonate with you?  Leave a comment or question below.  I’d love to keep the conversation going.

Tags: , , , ,

About Kevin Nguyen

I am a Vietnamese-Texan Who doesn’t love both Pho and BBQ? And this is where I shall start… Introductions to Kevin Nguyen. Let me go ahead and introduce myself as best I can. My “Called” Name (what you go by): Legal name: Anh-Khoa Nguyen. Nickname: Kevin. Personal family name: Khoa (qua) Nationality: Vietnamese-Texan Kevin was picked up when I was trying to order pizza from Pizza Hut while in Texas. The guy asked how to spell my name. I mean, how hard is it to spell “K – H – O – A”, right? Those are not hard letters to hear over the phone. After several attempts – I couldn’t take it anymore — “Dude, my name is Kevin”. Finally, I can have my pizza. READ MORE here... http://nextgenerasianchurch.com/2012/02/01/i-am-a-vietnamese-texan/

Leave a Reply

