Slogans are Memorable, #PDChurch2016

screen-shot-2016-10-13-at-2-43-09-pm

Sitting at a week long church growth conference at Saddleback Church with one of my favorite pastors, Rick Warren.  I’m figuring out how to bless others while I sit here for 4 full days.  This conference has been so enriching for my own leadership growth, staff team, ministry leaders, and my colleagues.  I’ll be posting some of these gold nuggets over the next few posts. May it bless you in your leadership development.

Day 1: Communicating Your Purposes

It’s not enough to define your purposes and create a purpose statement.  The leader’s #1 task is to continually clarify and communicate the purpose of the organization.

5 ways to communicate Vision & Purpose:

  • Slogans
  • Symbols
  • Scriptures
  • Stories
  • Specifics (Strategy)

Don’t be afraid to repeat yourself.  Nobody gets it the first time.  Say it over and over in fresh ways.  Practice “Creative Redundancy!”

KN Commentary:

I want to focus on the SLOGAN point.  Slogans are short, memorable statements that people can recite.  No one ever remembers a 10 minute speech, 45 minute sermon, or even a lecture outline last week.  But, Slogans are powerful tools to help reinforce VALUES of an organization.  I went ahead and started making a collection of Saddleback Slogans.   CLICK HERE

If you’re at Saddleback, do you see any that I have missed?  For everyone else, comment below and give me some of your best slogans that reinforces a value.

img_3359#pdchurch #saddlebackchurch

Tags: , , ,

About Kevin Nguyen

I am a Vietnamese-Texan Who doesn’t love both Pho and BBQ? And this is where I shall start… Introductions to Kevin Nguyen. Let me go ahead and introduce myself as best I can. My “Called” Name (what you go by): Legal name: Anh-Khoa Nguyen. Nickname: Kevin. Personal family name: Khoa (qua) Nationality: Vietnamese-Texan Kevin was picked up when I was trying to order pizza from Pizza Hut while in Texas. The guy asked how to spell my name. I mean, how hard is it to spell “K – H – O – A”, right? Those are not hard letters to hear over the phone. After several attempts – I couldn’t take it anymore — “Dude, my name is Kevin”. Finally, I can have my pizza. READ MORE here... http://nextgenerasianchurch.com/2012/02/01/i-am-a-vietnamese-texan/

One response to “Slogans are Memorable, #PDChurch2016”

Leave a Reply

